Art

The 2017 Venice Biennale in 20 Instagram Posts

The 57th edition of the Venice Art Biennale, titled “Viva Arte Viva” and organized by the Centre Pompidou’s Christine Macel, opens to the public tomorrow. But as with any contemporary cultural event, it has already been well documented on social media. Here are a few Instagram highlights by our contributors and others on the ground.

Geta Brătescu

A post shared by Bettina Korek (@bettinakorek) on

Geta Brătescu

Romanian Pavilion

Mark Bradford

U.S. Pavilion

#johnwaters #biennalearte2017 #vivaarteviva

A post shared by Sophie Lauwers (@lauwers.sophie) on

John Waters

“Viva Arte Viva,” Central Pavilion

Alicja Kwade

“Viva Arte Viva,” Arsenale

#SheilaHicks yes please.

A post shared by Sarah Klein (@skleinstudio) on

Sheila Hicks

“Viva Arte Viva,” Arsenale

#yeesookyung #arsenalevenezia

A post shared by Mariateresa Setaro (@mt0906) on

Yeesookyung

“Viva Arte Viva,” Central Pavilion

#venicebiennale #britishpavilion #phyllidabarlow

A post shared by Goga Ashkenazi (@goga_vionnet) on

Phyllida Barlow

British Pavilion

#anneimhof #germanpavillion #biennaledivenezia2017

A post shared by Diego Bergamaschi (@diegoberga) on

Anne Imhof

German Pavilion

Xavier Veilhan with Christian Marclay and Lionel Bovier

French Pavilion

may 10 #window23 vaporetto instead of window….#jamesleebyars drive by

A post shared by Klaus Biesenbach (@klausbiesenbach) on

James Lee Byars

Grand Canal

Carol Bove

Swiss Pavilion

Takahiro Iwasaki

Japanese Pavilion

Rasheed Araeen @labiennale (co-supported by @sharjahart ) #rasheedaraeen

A post shared by Hoor Al-Qasimi حور القاسمي (@hooralq) on

Rasheed Araeen

“Viva Arte Viva,” Arsenale

What kind of mask are you putting in today? #venicebiennale2017 #venicebiennale #venise

A post shared by Lorraine de Loriol , Traiteur (@bois_delices_traiteur) on

Bernardo Oyarzún

Chilean Pavilion

Mirrored #nordicpavilion

A post shared by Cecilia Widenheim (@ceciliawidenheim) on

Siri Aurdal

Nordic Pavilion

Installation by Giorgio Andreotta Caló #biennaledivenezia #padiglioneitalia curated by Cecilia Alemani

A post shared by Alberto Biagetti (@albertobiagetti) on

Giorgio Andreotta Caló

Italian Pavilion

Grisha Bruskin

Russian Pavilion

Obligatory #DamienHirst pic from #treasuresfromthewreckoftheunbelievable. #absfordaysssss #Biennale

A post shared by Sarah Arison (@saraharison) on

Damien Hirst

“Treasures From the Wreck of the Unbelievable,” Palazzo Grassi

Cody Choi and Lee Wan

Korean Pavilion

Cody Choi

A post shared by Ximena Caminos (@xcaminos) on

Cody Choi

Korean Pavilion

Back to List