Highlights and Honorees of the 2022 CFDA Awards

Awards went to a roster of talented designers, stylists, and other industry insiders. Among them: Catherine Holstein, Emily Adams Bode Aujla, Andrew Bolton, and more.

Kendall Jenner and Catherine Holstein at the 2022 CFDA awards cocktail party. Credit: Getty Images

On Monday, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) hosted its annual awards show in New York City. The occasion honors defining members of the vast American fashion ecosystem, from designers and stylists to celebrities, and this year, even the United Nations. 

Khaite founder Catherine Holstein was named womenswear designer of the year while Bode founder Emily Adams Bode Aujla, who was also honored at the Cooper Hewitt Design Awards earlier this fall, took home the menswear designer of the year award. Raul Lopez of Luar, the Surface-approved it-bag label if ever there was one, was this year’s honoree for accessories designer. The United Nations, meanwhile, received the sustainability award. In fitting fashion, Anna Wintour presented the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Wendy Yu Curator in Charge, Andrew Bolton, with the Council’s founder award, so named for CFDA founder and architect of the fashion world as we know it today, Eleanor Lambert. In a touching tribute, the late Virgil Abloh was honored posthumously with the Board of Trustees Award.

Below, find the full list of honorees by category.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Catherine Holstein (Khaite)

American Menswear Designer of the Year: Emily Adams Bode Aujla (Bode)

American Accessory Designer of the Year: Raul Lopez (Luar)

American Emerging Designer of the Year: Elena Velez

Fashion Icon: Lenny Kravitz

Recipient of the Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion: Skims

Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Patti Wilson

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark (Chrome Hearts)

Founder’s Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Bolton

Stylist Award: Law Roach

Positive Social Influence Award: Slaysians from the The House of Slay (Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William)

Environmental Sustainability Award: The United Nations

Special Anniversary Award: Jeffrey Banks

Posthumous Board of Trustees Award: Virgil Abloh, accepted by Shannon Abloh on her late husband’s behalf.

All Stories